Menopause – Cloudy with a Chance of Enlightenment

Who am I?  Now there’s a question I’ve been trying to answer since I made my way out of the birth canal and into my mother’s exhausted arms.  Five minutes into a workshop last weekend, the leader asked all of the participants the following three questions:  where did you come from originally, where do you reside now, and, drum roll, please…who are you?

“Honey,” I thought, “if I had that figured out, I’d sprout angel wings, prepare for take off, and head home to the astral realms where love reigns supreme, egos are strictly forbidden, and our souls are “free at last, free at last, thank G_d almighty, free at last.”

Who am I?  The answer to that question seems to change with Yankee punctuality each and every day.  At this very moment, I’m a middle-aged woman, shrouded in fog, with a chance of showers; in other words, I’m menopausal.  I’m not peri, nor post, I am in the throes of, which literally means “in the middle of doing or dealing with something very difficult or painful.”  (Think, Maria Shriver…oy!)

I used to be rather ingenious, and my multi and tri syllabled words were peppered with wit, and wisdom.  I possessed a razor-sharp memory, which was constantly honed, as a child growing up with a mother whose drug addiction seemed to twist and bend reality.  I was always an emotional little girl; I still haven’t seen Bambi or Dumbo in its entirety, and in high school when “Old Yeller” was required reading, well, I got the cliff notes.  But, with the onset of Ms. Men-oh-pause, I find myself crying at the slightest provocation.  I’m constantly upset by the life choices Lindsay Lohan is making, I cry oceans of tears when anyone is voted off Dancing With the Stars, and when Donald Trump announced that he would not run for the office of President of the United States, I had to schedule an emergency session with my therapist!   It’s all so painful, really.

Thanks to the majesty of menopause, I find myself at a loss for words.  My husband and son are ecstatic with that turn of events, but when you’re trying to ask the young man at Starbucks for “a tall drip,” and all you can say is that you’d like a cup of, cup of ‘em, and three people behind you shout, “coffee,” well, it’s unsettling, to say the least.  Unlike Little Bo Peep, my words ain’t coming home, waggin’ their meanings behind them.

Here is a list of other things that the magician of menopause has artfully vanished into thin air:  my keys, my glasses, my cell phone, any and all interest in sex, sleep, dreams, short term memory, synaptic ability to send messages to my brain regarding body temperature, my ‘B’ cup breasts (now you see ’em now you don’t).

If you’ve read any of my other blogs, you know that I see the world with “the glass is a little more than half full” consciousness, so I want you to know that my menopausal life isn’t all about loss. There are some gains:  abdominal fat, irritability, vaginal dryness, increase in allergies and mood swings, to name a few.

So, who am I?  I am a woman who is learning how to open up to the abundance of love that exists inside of me.  I am a woman who is melting the armor of fear that imprisons my heart.  I am a woman who believes that every moment of life, menopausal or not, teaches us about love, forgiveness, and the balance of being both human and spirit.

Embrace the miracles of being a woman.

8 thoughts on “Menopause – Cloudy with a Chance of Enlightenment

  1. Oh..how I love AND relate to this!!! Im so happy to know I am not the only one who can’t recall the simplest of words at time..and the frustration is disheartening when I cant remember what the 3 pronged thing is I place next to the knife…the uh…uh…oh forget it!!! ; )
    I look forward to more blogs..more of the bad AND the good of this new phase in our lives..and like so many things ..this is something all of us (women and some argue MEN too) will , with luck, go through…So we are all in this together..and that warms my soul a bit! I look forward to more and more and more of your delicious words…(and dont worry..youll find them!! ) xoxox!

    • Bonnie, Thank you for your continuing support. You are truly an inspiration for me. I’m so glad we’ve connected.
      Love, Brauna

  2. Brauna, I’m sure you should have started blogging long before you did, but am certainly glad that you’ve found your voice and that I was blessed to find you as well!
    I so enjoyed this blog! Witty, soulful, and a hoot ! I can totally relate and am looking forward to reading more.
    Peace & Love, Carol

    • Carol, this is what I love most about blogging. Finding people like you
      to share thoughts, feelings, insights, joys, pains…life — with.
      Thanks for your kind words and your enthusiastic support. Look
      forward to reading your words as well.
      In love and light (most of the time), Brauna

Leave a Reply

